H.R. 3982, the "Open Internet Preservation Act of 2014"

Bill Status: 
Last Action: 
Feb 3, 2014

On February 3, 2014, Ranking Members Henry A. Waxman and Anna G. Eshoo introduced H.R. 3982, the Open Internet Preservation Act.  The legislation restores the 2010 Open Internet Rules struck down by the D.C. Circuit in January 2014 that prohibit broadband Internet service providers from engaging in discriminatory behavior online or blocking content altogether.  Under the bill, the 2010 rules would remain in effect until the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) takes new final action in the Open Internet proceeding.

113th Congress